The Ten Commandments of Technology Transfer

Technology Transfers, I just dislike them, especially when they are driven by the IT department. No matter what they tell you, it’s always more complex and end users usually suffer.

A major Technology Transfer is currently taking place in my organisation. The Big Cheese decided all applications will have to move from the current data centre to a brand new one. Sure, if the Big Cheese decides so, it will happen. What could possible go wrong? It’s “only” moving a server to another place…the software doesn’t change. This can be done quickly.

May I suggest a little reading dear Project Team? Try Quality Software Management volume 4 Anticipating Change, chapter 23.5 Jerry Weinberg discusses his Ten Commandments of Technology Transfer;

  • Thou shalt have a plan to lead thee out of the wilderness.
  • Thou shalt not worship thy plan.
  • Thou shalt not ask for no person in vain.
  • Thou shalt not work 7 days a week.
  • Thou shalt honor thy users and listen to them.
  • Thou shalt not kill support for change.
  • Thou shalt not adulterate from the work.
  • Thou shalt not steal resources from the work.
  • Thou shalt not bear false witness against thy plan.
  • Thou shalt not covet they neighbor’s optimal technology.

After reading this chapter, please don’t ask me to agree with a testing period of maximum 10 minutes. Don’t be upset anymore if I don’t want to work on my free day, after all it is my day off. I spend my days with my kids, and you didn’t consult them when you made your planning. I wish you all the best with the Technology Transfer, you will need luck.

Much appreciated.

Leave a Reply

